Monday News: System Failure

So how about that Lucasfilm/Disney deal, huh? Between the 700,000,000 director wishlists that are probably gobbling up an equal number of hits for the sites that threw whatever nerd bait names together in a list designed to magnetize Google search queries of “‘x director’ Star Wars VII” in 5 minutes to well-established for their independent and original, non-reference laden work, lumanaries like Seth MacFarlane and Kevin Smith checking in with their completely needed approval/disapproval, I couldn’t really think of a week where I was asked by more people about Star Wars stuff. I have no clue where we’re going but one thing about this makes me happy: Disney is likely going to strangle Star Wars: Detours after it finishes its initial episode order. Yay!

But other stuff happened to, outside of just lazily saying Christopher Nolan or Joss Whedon or Sam Mendes should direct the next installment of the franchise (really? Sam Mendes? Skyfall must really be incredible as we seem to have left behind the days of people celebrating when he’s off a project, like they did with Sweeney Todd) and I’m here to put it up so I can have 1/5 the hits that a random collection of John Frusciante pictures with venomous scroll-captions can manage.

– The Thief and the Cobbler documentary to debut in New York this week

Persistence of Vision, covering the story of Richard Williams’ notoriously mangled-in-production The Thief and the Cobbler screens this week in New York City this week, and if you’re available Friday, at 9:15 PM, I  [Source: Cartoon Brew]

D-arts Mewtwo gets new pics, full details revealed, I await domestic pricing

Bandai’s apparently ready to go with the first of the D-arts Pokemon figures they were planning: Mewtwo’s already up for preorder, hot on the heels of these brand new pictures. Frankly, I’m surprised we have something up this soon, especially since it hasn’t been completely clear what’s a proto or not. Also, I figured that the Sailor Moon figuarts would be the first thing to hit the preorder circuit, but I’m happy to wait in light of the Masterpiece cassettes arriving in Mewtwo’s expected release slot of March. [Source: Tomopop]

Well, Shockwave crashed and I lost half the news. Oh well! It happens I guess. It’s too late for me to really mess with because I said so and I can do that since I just lost about 2000 words and an hour and a half of work. Executive decision! What you missed out on was some blabbing about the Mass Effect Trilogy, a little bit about Before Watchmen: Dollar Bill, some stuff about a new Zelda symphony release coming soon, and the greatest John Frusciante content the site’s had yet (that last one is a lie). If you’re sad about what you missed, you could always fill up your time with reading last week’s articles!

– Monday News: ‘The Doom that came to my finances’ or ‘Beyond the wall of self-restraint’

TOYS! Also some other stuff! But TOYS!

– Tuesday

Lucasfilm: Disney and the future (by Kinsel)

Weird, I was just talking about this in the intro! Chris takes the positive route with the Disney/Lucasfilm deal, which apparently everyone agrees with but not? Maybe? I have no clue, it’s hard to tell. I know I’m on board, and so is Chris, so whatever.

– Wednesday

Talkin’ about Turtles: Mirage vol. 1, issues 1-7 (by Marshall)

The epic quest covering TMNT comics from the beginning starts here! Join Marshall as he looks at where the Turtles got their start as a parody of Frank Miller, from the age before Frank Miller became a parody of himself! Includes what’s in that fancy $50 “Ultimate Collection” that IDW just put out, AND a picture of Marshall with Kevin Eastman! You will believe a comic creator can look like Scott Baio!

-Thursday

A very special What’s ‘Appening: Punchquest (by Mike)

Mike writes about how the people who made something that was basically free aren’t making any money from it! D’oh! Darn you internet!

– Friday

Review: Mezco Earthworm Jim

I look at the first Mezco toy I’ve bought in nearly 5 years, something that my Toys R Us actually sold out of! Sorry Movie Masters Harvey Dent, you’re going to be there forever!

Would you look at that? Something from almost everyone! Wow! That’s never happened before! It’s almost like we’re a real website instead of the half-mad rantings of me punctuated with the gentle input of calmer minds! That’s a great lead-in to how episode #101 was finally recorded this week and will be up soon! Thrilling, yes? There’ll actually be Star Wars discussion on it as we’re joined by Marshall to cover the story everyone else will be paying attention to instead of reading this. So be sure to listen, imaginary readers!

You know, I may sound a little annoyed at all the completely baseless speculation about the potential for new Star Wars films. I’m not because finally something has come along to drown out all the irritating screeds about politics! Everyone remember to vote tomorrow!

Leave a comment

  • Categories