PokeManiacs

Michael here.

So, I like Pokemon. If you’ve spent any time around me, when I have a Nintendo handheld system, it’s primary function is to play Pokemon. All other games are bonuses. If you do not fanatically follow Pokemon like I do, you may not be aware that there is a new generation of games coming out for the Nintendo 3DS — Pokemon X and Y. It’s all 3D and stuff! It looks so good! It’s a new generation! There’s a new Eevee-lution!

So, in honor of this amazingness, I’ve decided to make a list of my Top 20 Pokemon. They are in National Pokedex order (out of 649), not preferential order. I will be linking to the Bulbapedia page for each Pokemon if you want to know who in the world I am talking about. My criteria for selecting who I did was simply that I enjoy these Pokemon in some form (be it in-game, design, from the anime, or the manga). So … here we go!

Charizard (No. 6)

He was my first starter. In Pokemon Red, I started my journey with a cute little Charmander. He eventually evolved into an AWESOME Charizard. The not-really-a-dragon. And, on the anime? C’mon! Ash’s Charizard has some of the best character arcs ever.

Farfetch’d (No. 83)

A samurai duck. I’m really hoping to see an evelution for him in Generation VI.

Ditto (No. 132)

If you are into breeding Pokemon, you can’t be without a Ditto. Able to take the form and moves of any other Pokemon, Ditto is also able to … play with any other Pokemon … and magically an egg will appear. Although no one knows how those eggs get there …

Snorlax (No. 143)

One of my all time favorites. The laziest Pokemon. He turns sleeping into an artform. Even his SNORES are lethal.

Umbreon (No. 197)

One of my favorite Eevee-lutions. (For those who don’t know, Eevee is a cute little fox/dog thing that can evolve into numerous different forms.) Umbreon is one of my favorite Dark Pokemon. And he looks so cool.

Tyranitar (No. 248)

Godzilla as a Pokemon. ‘Nuff said.

Sableye (No. 302)

This one is a bit interesting. Sableye is based off of the Hopkinsville Goblin, an alien encounter story from Kentucky. Japan is crazy for the Hopkinsville Goblin stories, and Sableye is the result of that.

Torterra (No. 389)

A giant island turtle. How could I not like it? (I like turtles!)

Infernape (No. 392)

One of my favorite starters. I named my Chimchar (Infernape’s pre-eveolution) Goku, and he is one of the few “classic” Pokemon of mine I still have. He is a beast.

Spiritomb (No. 442)

An awesome ghost. It has no natural weaknesses. And it’s a cursed rock.

Lucario (No. 448)

My current Lucario is named Dovhakiin … “Dragonborn” from Skyrim. Why? Because this little dude, with the right moves, is a veritable Dragonslayer. No Pokemon Champion can stand up to this beast.

Leafeon (No. 470)

My second favorite Eevee-lution. I’m not normally a big fan of Grass types, but there are a few that I always try to have on my main teams. This guy is definitely one of them.

Rotom (No. 479)

He’s a ghost … that can possess APPLIANCES. Each appliance give Rotom a specific type’s powers. He’s so much fun.

Darkrai (No. 491)

The nightmare Pokemon. Extremely hard to get a hold of, but worth it. He always gets teamed up with Snorlax. Also, his manga story is one of the coolest for a legendary.

Arceus (No. 493)

The God of Pokemon.

Victini (No. 494)

One of my favorite Generation V Pokemon. He was a release-event Pokemon when Generation V started, and never left my main team.

Zorua (No. 570)

The first Pokemon shown for Generation V. Cute little dark fox thing. Uses illusion to trick opponents and others into thinking it is something … or someone … else. One of the few in-game Pokemon that can talk in human speech (at least his evolution, Zororak, can.).

Klinklang (No. 601)

They are sentient gears. They are just so fun to play around with. The design is so cool. Even better in motion.

Golurk (No. 623)

A freaking GHOST GOLEM. That can FLY. Automatic win.

Hydreigon (No. 635)

King Ghidorah as a Pokemon. ‘Nuff said.

So there you have it. My Top 20 Pokemon. If you’re itching for some more Pokemon, and don’t have a game system, check out the Pokemon TV app (for Google and Apple devices!).

Until next time …

See ya next Punday!

Leave a comment

  • Categories