Obligatory Best of 2012 Post

Michael here.

So, 2012 was a year many new obsessions began for me. This post is going to talk about four things I read, watched and played in 2012. Some of these things were not created in 2012, but this is when I discovered them. What you’re getting here is a slice of my year. So sit back, relax, and enjoy. Then maybe check some of this cool stuff out, if you haven’t already.

What I Read in 2012

Brandon Sanderson (Mistborn Series): Boy, did I come late to this train. I’ve waxed poetically about The Wheel of Time series and such, but I had not read the Sanderson books before this year. Well before I started the WoT re-read, however, I picked up Sanderson’s Mistborn books. Wow. The premise here is that we’re dealing with a post-Evil Overlord win situation, in a fantasy setting. The series starts off with, and threads throughout, many different fantasy story tropes. And then subverts the hell out of them. It also has probably the coolest magic system I’ve ever read. And the best part? The fantasy trilogy is only the first part. Probably taking place about 1,000 or so years after, on the same world, Sanderson is planning a trilogy set in a modern, urban setting. Then a trilogy set in a space-faring future. And he already has a side story set between the first two trilogies, set in the “Wild West.” I can’t recommend Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn books enough.

Kelly Sue DeConnick(Captain Marvel): Captain Marvel. A name with such history, for both DC and Marvel, that it was almost anathema for a time. DeConnick has made Carol Danvers a more than suitable heir for that moniker. The Captain Marvel book has taken one of my favorite Avengers, formerly Ms. Marvel, and given her quite a few levels in bad-ass. She even pulls rank on Captain America. In the first issue. Captain Marvel is a fantastic book, with an excellent mix of humor, tragedy, and catharsis. And ass-kicking. On top of everything else, Kelly Sue DeConnick is one of the nicest creators out there when it comes to fan interaction. The first TPB came out, so give it a read.

Matt Fraction (Hawkeye/Fantastic Four/FF): FUN FACT — Fraction is married to Kelly Sue DeConnick. They are tied with Amanda Palmer and Neil Gaiman for my favorite married creators of awesomeness. Fraction has really entertained me with “Hawkguy.” It’s just such a fun book. On top of that, his Fantastic Four/FF run, while different that Hickman’s (see below), has the potential to be just as, if not more, entertaining. Just in a different way. Mike Allred was PERFECT for FF. While Hawkeye is perfectly standalone, I have to recommend reading Fantastic Four and FF together. Or just make it easy on yourself and buy all three.

Jonathan Hickman (Fantastic Four/Avengers/Manhattan Projects): Three evil Reeds. With Infinity Gauntlets. BAM! Hickman’s run on Fantastic Four will probably go down as one of the top 3 runs on a book that has boasted some of the best creators in comicdom. It’s that good. When the inevitable omnibus comes out, just get it. And so far, his Avengers has be very intrigued. It’s too early to say for sure, but we could be seeing another milestone run for Hickman. But the book that really got me was Manhattan Projects. I can’t talk as much about it as I’d like, without spoiling stuff. So just go get that first TPB and get ready for a wild ride.

What I Watched in 2012

Avengers: Eleventy Billion Dollars. ‘Nuff said.

Doctor Who: The BBC kills me. They really need to learn how “seasons” work. Regardless, the first half of Doctor Who Season Seven was quite the ride. Amy and Rory, companions for two and a half “series,” finally said their goodbyes to make room for a new companion. Also, the 50th Anniversary episode will be this year, so I’m sure we’ll realize that he’s been laying plans down for years. If you like the show, enjoy the ride. If you’re on the fence, give it a try, but start with Series 1 or 2. If you don’t like it, then you’re Jaysun and Richard. (Ha!)

Wreck-It Ralph: Roger Rabbit meets video games. It was fantastic. But I’m sure I don’t have to tell you that. I’m SURE you watched it, right? RIGHT?

Adventure Time: Another franchise I came late to. I have talked at length before on how much I love this show. And the comics. And the games. Which is why it’s on this list.

What I Played in 2012

Dishonored: Talk about a dark horse. I had heard rumblings about the game here and there, but not until about a month before it came out was I seeing more about it. The premise sounded awesome. First-person, assassin-style stealth/combat hybrid, complete missions however you want. And you know what? It freaking DELIVERED. Seriously, buy this game if any of the genre/playstyles interest you at all. It’s a fantastic game with a fantastic world it has built. I look forward to more in that universe.

King of Dragon’s Pass: Although much derided on the podcast, I stand by my views this is one of the best games on the iPad/iPhone. It’s so deep. Honestly, it’s almost overwhelming at first. Once you start up a few games and try out different paths, you start to understand what works and what doesn’t for your playstyle. Then, you start getting sucked into the story. Catch it on sale if you’re not sure, but it’s universal. If you have an iPad, that is the preferred way to play.

Mortal Kombat: The “reboot” game. Sort of. But not really. It is SO MUCH FUN. Ask Jaysun. The PS3 version came with a download code for the original Mortal Kombat movie. What is NOT to love in this package?

Lost Treasures of Infocom: This app came at the tail end of 2012, but I’ve clocked a ridiculous amount of time on it. Why? Zork. Zork II. Zork III. On the IPAD (or iPhone — gotta love universal apps)! I LOVE text adventure games. I grew up on them. And this is the first time you could (legally) play any of these games on iOS. I have been eaten by so many grues … but it’s totally worth it. There are about 25-ish games total, available through in-app purchase, but the main shell, and Zork I, are free! FREE, I TELL YOU!

So that’s been my best of 2012 stuff thing post bloggity what what. I hope you’ve enjoyed.

Until next Punday!

Comments
3 Responses to “Obligatory Best of 2012 Post”
  1. oansun says:

    Doctor Who Sucks

  2. Khaosbringer says:

    Doctor Who is awesome. You’re just jealous. You want a TARDIS.

    • So that does mean you’re jealous of Downton Abbey and you want a stately British manner where people talk a lot about “the war” but nothing really ever happens?

Leave a comment

  • Categories