I Want Stuff: 5 Additions to Master of the Universe Classics

By Jaysun

I love Masters of the Universe. It’s been a near obsession of mind since my youth. I love talking about it, watching it, playing with them, complaining about it; I just love it. But I always want more, whether it’s more sci-fi elements, female characters, or ridiculous accessories. So guess what I’m going to do? Tell you five things I want to see added to this line!! Now, it won’t be things like “retail sales” “cheaper shipping” or “sexual gratification.” Those things simply won’t happen. But maybe, hopefully, these can happen!

5. General Sunder:

When it comes to characters I really want that I don’t think will happen so soon, he’s at the top. He’s a Filmation character, and his first appearance is in overalls. But his story is amazing: former Horde general, retired and escaped to Bright Moon to raise a family. She-Ra is in trouble so he suits up and helps out. His outfit is way awesome, and I’d love an alternate overalls outfit from removable armor. This seems unlikely with Mattel’s usual method of releasing figures, but some have been known to have removable armor. Either way, with the Filmation library up for grabs, he’s one I’m making a case for big time. I’ve seen customs online that are amazing, so hopefully there is enough fan interest for Mattel to take notice.

4. More New Adventures Love

We have a couple of (Evil) Space Mutants (Optikk, Slushhead), and a “Galactic Protector (Guardian).” And I really love the two released so far (Slushhead soon!), but fan reluctance to sci-fi in this line is killing the potential for Mattel to tap more from this particular He-Man era. It may not be everyone’s favorite series (even though it was actually really good, you should try watching it again), but many of the designs were really great and the Four Horsemen could really do some amazing things with a lot of them. Nocturna, Sebrian, Quakke, and the aptly named Butthead could be a lot of fun. Not to mention NA He-Man and Skeletor finally. The Skeletor design is of particular interest because of house creepy it could look. I know everyone loves Skeletor.

3. Small Scale Vehicles

Ok, the Wind Raider didn’t perform to expectations. It really was pretty expensive overall and near Christmas. But that shouldn’t destroy all expectation of accessories and vehicles. The Weapons Packs seem to perform well, so if you make some vehicles near the same price as a figure things could work to our advantage. Stilt Stalker, Battle Hawk, Cliff Climber, Beam Blaster, Blaster Hawks, accessories on a small scale (across all the lines)  would add to the fun MOTU has usually offered consumers and would increase interest in older figures that sit lonely on a shelf. Dislike that Wun-Dar? Strap a Battle Hawk to his back and let him fly over your display. Bored by Beast Man? Have him fire lasers from a Beam Blaster that he stole from Man At Arms! Have Chief Carvinus reach for jars on the top shelf with the Stilt Stalker! It’s the kind of fun I always had as a child.

2. More Mini Comics

I can’t say the quality of the mini comic included with Thunderpunch He-Man was very high, but I love the effort. This could be a great way to showcase new and emerging talent from the comics medium. While Mattel might not have a vested interest in the comics field, they do have a partnership with DC Comics that could increase in value amongst both sides if they let a new talent shine in a comic that will be purchased anyway. The figures are typically locked in a subscription, so people will buy it with or without the comic. If consumers hear there is an added value with their figures of high quality, the subscriptions could increase and we would be rewarded with some cool new stories. New artists like Bruce Timm got some major breaks with Mini Comics in the 80’s, why not now? If that writer gets popular because of the added exposure, it could lead to creating new IP between DC and Mattel. They could have their own Ben 10. No need for established names, just relatively new talent would be great.

1. Build A Playset

Would this be expensive? Yes. Would people buy into it? I believe so. Mattel added Voltron to their on-line sales earlier this year, and they seem to perform to a certain expectation the company set on it. I also believe Mattel tested the waters a bit with the Young Justice: build-a-diorama series. That line is now cancelled, so I guess it didn’t really show interest. But That was a Hall of Justice diorama that was based on the television series. If Mattel were to create a separate sub of certain re-paints and re-decos (maybe 8-12) and each were to come with a piece of Castle Grayskull that would build as acquired, it could increase revenue a bit. You’ve added another sub to the expanding line, and are able to reuse figures by merely painting them (tooling costs would be extremely low for the figures). But seeing as they’ve done most of the re-paints that are popular (200X Evil-lyn, Faker, Moss Man, Wun-Dar) this doesn’t seem as likely as I would like. But I’m more than certain there are certain figures people would want that would be easy re-decos and would come with a piece of Grayskull/Snake Mountain. I’m not privy to all of Mattel’s financial information, so I could be wrong on a lot of this. Yet, I’m just coming up with newer ideas to finally give us a great Grayskull for the line. It’s (fictionally) made of brick, so having gaps from the building process would also give the design an interesting aesthetic that comes with creative budgeting methods. We could have Club Eternia for the population of MOTUC, and Club Grayskull for the repaints and pieces. Fright Zone, Crystal Castle, they’re all up for grabs (Nordor anyone?)! Mainly, I just want playsets, and would like them anyway possible.

When there is a He-Man line out, it’s immediately my number one priority. And given my disillusion with many other lines as of late, I’m pretty much focusing solely on this line. I just want as much fun as possible, probably because I don’t just let these sit on a shelf. I’m still using the figures to craft battles and story lines of my own design, it’s an old habit that refuses to die.

Comments
4 Responses to “I Want Stuff: 5 Additions to Master of the Universe Classics”
  1. Also, more cowbell.

  2. Monte says:

    I have never been a fan of the New Adventures series or toys, but considering what the Horsemen managed to do with those designs so far, I endorse your suggestion.

    • Yea, I think the Horsemen enjoy many of the designs enough to bring them to a new generation of collectors in a very exciting way. Optikk is still one of the best figures and reuse of parts in the line, of course, in my humble opinion.
      Also thanks!

Leave a comment

  • Categories